Local teen writes memoir of grief

From a Sundance Books and Music news release

growing young book coverSundance Books and Music will host a conversation and book signing with Bridget Park, a local 17-year-old whose new memoir, Growing Young, was inspired by the tragic loss of her brother when she was 12. The event will be at 11 a.m. Saturday, Jan. 25, at 121 California Ave., Reno.

Bridget Park is a junior in high school. Inspired by the tragic loss of her brother, she wrote her debut memoir, Growing Young: A Memoir of Grief, at age 15. She hopes that the only grief support book written by a teenager will encourage others to find healthy ways of grieving.

She recounts stumbling upon the body of her 14-year-old brother while they were home alone. His suicide shattered her world and forced her to face issues she had never before considered. Follow the author through the grieving process as she attempts to cope with the loss of a loved one.

Bridget Park currently resides in Nevada and plans on continuing her writing. She aspires to share her story through speaking engagements.

This program is made possible through a partnership with Nevada Humanities and with the support of the Nightingale Family Foundation.

2 thoughts on “Local teen writes memoir of grief

  1. Hi. I’m Josh. I have a passion for reading and collecting books too. I have ever since I was a wee one. I read that you are a copy editor and want to start your own publishing company. I love to edit copy and my aunt is an editor of the Xavier University magazine. I recently wrote a memoir for teens and parents. I’m following your blog. Please follow back if you get a chance and check out my blog http://adopechanginglives.wordpress.com/

    • “Teen” and “memoir” are two words that don’t seem to go together, but your story sounds interesting. I admire you for putting it into writing and promoting it. I hope it’s a best seller!

Leave a Reply

