‘Fun & Games’ author David Michael Slater at Sundance Books Thursday

From a Sundance Books news release

Fun_GamesCoverWhat: Local author David Michael Slater reads from his newest novel Fun & Games (Library Tales Publishing, 2013).

When/Where: Thursday, Nov. 7, at 6:30 p.m., Sundance Books and Music, 121 California Ave., Reno.

About Fun & Games: The 1980s: It’s the time of Dungeons & Dragons, banana clips and Atari. Jonathan Schwartz is growing up in a family like no other. His sisters—Nadia, the dark genius, and Olivia, the gorgeous tease and temptress—manipulate Jon and his friends for their own entertainment. And his Holocaust survivor grandparents? Their coping techniques are beyond embarrassing. A disastrous visit to Jon’s class by his grandmother unhinges his famous father, setting off a chain of events that threatens to send the dysfunctional Schwartz clan up in flames once and for all. Fun & Games is a heartbreaking and hilarious story of faith, family secrets, betrayal and loss—but it’s also a tale of friendship, love and side-splitting shenanigans.

Praise: “David Michael Slater’s 1980s coming-of-age story fuses intense family dysfunction with literary intelligence. Mr. Slater throws all kinds of crazy against the wall–and not only does it stick, it works brilliantly. . . . Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson and Augusten Burroughs will crown David Michael Slater their new king.” – The New York Journal of Books

About the Author: David Michael Slater is an author of books for children, teens and adults. The Book of Nonsense and The Book of Knowledge Volumes I & II in his ongoing six-part teen series, Sacred Books, are being developed for film by Producer Kevin Bannerman (Lion King) and screenwriter Karen Janszen (Dolphin Tale). His 16 picture books include Cheese Louise; Jacques & Spock (a Children’s Book-of-the-Month Alternative Selection); Flour Girl (a 2008 Mom’s Choice Award winner) and The Bored Book, which was reviewed positively in The New York Times.

More information: www.sundancebookstore.com.

This program is made possible through a partnership with Nevada Humanities and with the support of the Nightingale Family Foundation.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s